Silver rupee of Akbar II – Ahmedabad

Year: 1243 AH (1827/8 AD)

Regnal year: 2X (3/4)

Weight: 11.36 g

Mint: Ahmedabad


Akbar Shah

Badshah Ghazi

Sikka Mubarak

अकबर शाह

बादशा ग़ाज़ी

सिक्का मुबारक

اکبر شاہ

بادشاہ غازی

سکہ مبارک

Akbar Shah

Badshah Ghazi

Auspicious Money

अकबर शाह

बादशा ग़ाज़ी

शुभ धन

اکبر شاہ

بادشاہ غازی

مبارک رقم


Julus Manus Sanah 23 Mimnat Zarb Dar-ul-Khilafa Shahjahanabad

जुलूस मानूस सनह 23 मीमनत

ज़र्ब दार-उल-ख़िलाफ़ा शाहजहानआबाद

جلوس مانوس سنہ 23 میمنت ضرب دارالخلاف

 شاہ جہان آباد

Struck in the year 23 of his reign of tranquil prosperity at the Seat of the government, Shahjahanabad

राजधानी, शाहजहानआबाद में शांत समृद्धि के तेईसवे वर्ष में ढाला गया

دارالحکومت، شاہ جہان آباد میں پرسکون خوشحالی دور حکومت کے تیئسوے سال میں ڈھالا گیا



Akbar Shah II

Akbar Shah II (reigned: 1806-1835) was the nineteenth and second-last Mughal Emperor and was the son of Shah Alam II and the father of the last emperor, Bahadur Shah Zafar. Akbar II had for his empire the Fort of Delhi. Despite this, some coins were still issued by him, though most coins bearing his name are of other states.

This coin was struck at Ahmedabad by a mint run by the Bombay Presidency of the East India Company which was annexed to them from the Gaekwar of Baroda in 1817.[i] Eventually, however, the British reduced the titular authority of the Mughals down to the ‘King of Delhi’ in 1835. Subsequently a new standardized coinage was introduced which used English in place of Persian and which no contained the Emperor’s name.

The participation of Akbar II’s son, Bahadur Shah Zafar in the revolt of 1857 (or the First War of Independence) resulted in his banishment to Rangoon. In 1862, the last Mughal died and the British Raj had been established. [ii]

[i] Tandon, P. (n.d.). The Coin Galleries: Bombay Presidency. Retrieved from coinindia:

[ii] Lane-Poole, S. (1892). The Coins of the Moghul Emperors of Hindustan. London.