Silver rupee of Shah Alam II – Mahendrapur


Year: 1186 AH (1772-1773 AD)

Regnal year: 14

Weight: 11.25 g

Mint: Mahendrapur (Bharatpur)


Sikka Zad bar Haft Kishvar

(S)aya-e-Fazl Ilah


Shah Alam Badshah


सिक्का ज़द बर हफ़्त किशवर

(सा)या-ए-फ़ज़्ल इलाह


शाह आलम बादशा

سکہ زد بر ہفت کشور

(س)ایہ فضل الہ

حامی دین محمد

شاہ عالم بادشاہ

Struck this Coin in the Seven Climes

the Shadow of the Divine Favour

The Defender of Faith of Muhammad

Shah Alam Badshah


सात क्षेत्रों में यह सिक्का ढाला

ईश्वरीय कृपा की छाया में

मुहम्मद के धर्म का रक्षक

शाह आलम बादशा

سات اقلیم میں یہ سکہ ڈھالا

الہی فضل کی چھایا میں


حامی دین محمد

شاہ عالم بادشاہ


Julus Manus Sanah 14 Mimnat Zarb

Mahe Indarpur

जुलूस मानूस सनह 14  मीमनत


महे इंदरपुर

جلوس مانوس سنہ 14

میمنت ضرب

 مہہ اندرپور

Struck in the year 14 of his reign of tranquil prosperity at Mahendrapur

महेंद्रपुर में शांत समृद्धि के चौदहवें वर्ष में ढाला गया

مہہ اندرپور میں پرسکون خوشحالی دور حکومت کے چودہ وے سال میں ڈھالا گیا




Shah Alam II

Bharatpur was the capital of a State in eastern Rajasthan. The ruling chiefs were Jats who became independent during the rule of Muhammad Shah. Mahendrapur and Brajindrapur are names by which Bharatpur appears on the Mughal currency.[i]

Up to the thirty-fourth year of Shah Alam II, Bharatpur went under the name of Mahe Indrapur.[ii]

Similar to the previous one, the coin presents the same Persian couplet on the obverse alongside Shah Alam’s name and title. The reverse displays the ‘Julus formula’ with the mint name of Mahe Indrapur.

[i] B.Whitehead, R. (1914). Catalogue of Coins in the Panjab Museum, Lahore : Vol. II Coins of the Mughal Emperors. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

[ii] Wright, H. N. (1908). Coins in the Indian Museum Calcutta. London: University of Oxford.